Junior C triumph for Ratoath

Paddy O’Brien park hosted the Meath Junior C Championship final between Ratoath and Clan Na Gael.

Ratoath played with a strong wind in the first half and got off to a great start with 4 points in the first 6 minutes. Aidan Murray started the scoring with the first 2 points and was joined on the scoreboard by Johnny Kirwan and Owen McMahon.

Clan na nGael eventually got off the mark with a point in the 8th minute.

Two Owen McMahon frees sandwiched a Clan Na nGael point as Ratoath continued to dominate. The Ratoath midfield of Tom Fadden and Peter Barry were on top and when Clan Na nGael managed to attack Ryan Kelly, Mick Lavin and Paddy Quinn were resolute in their defending.

Eoghan McMahon added a further point and then Clan Na nGael exchanged points with Aidan Murray on target once again, to close out the half leaving Ratoath 5 ahead at half time.

Ratoath 0-8 Clan Na Gael 0-3

Clan na nGael started the second half with a flurry scoring 2 points to reduce the lead to 3.

Ratoath however were up for the fight and led fiercely by Paul Flaherty they redoubled their efforts. The second half performance was outstanding – Colm Nugent was excellent at wing back and Peter Barry really cane into his own on the second half. Padraic Byrne showing no effects from having played in the junior hurling final on Saturday was as industrious as ever.

John Kirwan gave it his all for 40 minutes and his replacement Sean Johnson capably filled JK’s boots when he came in. Eoghan McMahon and Aidan Murray proved a handful for the entire game and added 6 points between them in the second half. Colm Nugent rounded out the scoring with a superb point to put the icing on the day.

This was a great team performance from the Ratoath lads – right from Eoghan Doody in goal, through to the bench, every player showed the commitment and resolve required to win a championship.

A mix of youth and experience came together to complete an unbeaten championship run and round out a successful year for Oliver Byrne and his team.

Ratoath 0-15  Clan na Gael 0-5

Ratoath: Eoghan Doody, Michael Lavin, Paddy Quinn, Ryan Kelly, Colm Nugent, Cormac Butler, Andrew Gerrard, Tom Fadden, Peter Barry, Padraic Byrne, Paul Flaherty (Captain), John Kirwan, Eoghan McMahon, Aidan Murray, Brian Daly.

Subs: John Walsh, Sean Johnson, Ruairi Crawford, Nathan Dunne

Scorers: Aidan Murray 0-7, Eoghan McMahon 0-6, John Kirwan 0-1, Colm Nugent 0-1