Donaghmore/Ashbourne 3-6 Ráth Tó 0-9

Donaghmore deservedly took the honours in this Under 21 championship football clash played in Stamullen on Sunday. Ratoath did though make the better start and registered the first 3 points with the Wallace brothers, Eamon( 2) and Joey (1) put the reigning champions ahead. Unfortunately they would not score for the remainder of the half as their opponents gradually clawed their way back with 3 points of their own followed by a goal in the 23rd minute to go in front . 2 quick points before half time ensured that Donaghmore-Ashbourne went in at the break with a 5 point cushion. ( 1-5 to 0-3).
The second half saw the Ashbourne based club continue from where they left off in the first half with another goal and a point . To be fair to Fergal Power’s charges they rallied and with the 2 Wallaces to the fore along with a score from Conor Rooney they were only  a kick of a ball in arrears with 5 minutes to go(2-6 to 0-9). Alas that’s as close as Ratoath got as another goal from the winning side ensured their passage to the semi final.Best for Ratoath were Gavin McGowan,Keith McCabe,Brian O’Connor,Eamonn & Joey Wallace
Foireann Ráth Tó: Eoin Doody,Philip Byrne,Gavin McGowan,Ben Newe,Brian Daly,Brian Power, Rob Waters,Brian O’Connor,Keith McCabe, Enda Cahill, Joey Wallace, Niall Donnelly,Ben McGowan,Eamon Wallace,Conor Rooney Fir Ionad: Jason Tyndall for Cahill, Daragh Byrne for Donnelly
Scorers: Eamon Wallace (0-6), Joey Wallace(0-2), Conor Rooney (0-1)