Ratoath 1-18 Moynalvey 1-5

Ratoath emerged 13 point winners in this second round championship game, played in dry cool conditions in Skryne on Friday night. Fergal Power’s charges put the disappointment of the draw against St Patricks behind them, as they completely dominated the first half to put the result beyond doubt.
in the first 10 minutes alone Ratoath rattled off 7 points with Daithi McGowan, Bryan McMahon and Joey Wallace impressing in picking off the scores. Moynalvey got their opening score in the 12th minute from a David McLoughlin free, but this would prove their solitary point in the first half, as Ratoath demonstrated excellent teamwork in keeping the scoreboard ticking over. The same trio of players above raised further white flags both from play and placed balls with Ben McGowan also chipping in with a point of his own, to leave the score 0-14 to 0-1 at half time.
The second half began with Ratoath continuing from where they left off, as this time Gavin McGowan joined his brothers in getting in on the scoring act. Moynalvey though did stage a mini recovery with well worked scores from Anthony Forde and Shane Lennihan, and another McLoughlin free reducing the deficit. Any hopes of a comeback though were quickly snuffed out with first Brian Power getting a point and Gavin McGowan finishing a move he started with a goal in the 45th minute. After that scores dried up for the Ratoath men (apart from a late McGowan free) as the wide count increased and Moynalvey continued to battle to the end. Their spirit was rewarded with a goal in the 53rd minute from inter county star, Cillian O’Sullivan but ultimately they were outclassed by a much superior Ratoath outfit.
Foireann Ráth Tó: Darragh McPartlin, Ciarán O’Fearraigh, Conor McGill, Darragh McGill, Brian O’Connor, Gavin McGowan (1-1), Brian Power (0-1), Darragh Kelly, Cian O’Brien, Keith McCabe, Conor Rooney, Ben McGowan (0-1), Bryan McMahon (0-7, 3 frees), Joey Wallace (0-3), Daithi McGowan (0-5, 3 from frees)
Fir ionad: Gareth Rooney for Wallace (black card), Enda Cahill for Kelly, Jack McGowan for Conor Rooney