Ráth Tó 4-13 Na Fianna 2-12

Bhuail Ráth Tó Na Fianna sa chluiche peile spreagúil faoi 21 seo a himríodh oíche Dé Céadaoin seo caite i mBaile an Bhrúnaigh

Ratoath edged Na Fianna in this pulsating Under 21 Semi Final played on a cool winter’s evening in Sean Eiffe Park. Unfortunately there had to be a loser as the home side finally overcame the visitors in extra time.

The game began with both side exchanging points and was pretty much score for score for the opening 20 minutes. Thereafter until half time Na Fianna exploited the wind advantage and put 1-3 on the board without reply to go 4 ahead. Darragh McGill’s charges did hit back with a point just before the break, to leave the half time score 1-5 to 0-5 at the break.

After the interval the men in Blue and Yellow were slow to avail of the wind at their backs as scores proved hard to come by. With only 2 white flags raised by the 55th minute, Ratoath were still trailing their opponents by 4 points and the omens weren’t looking good. Up stepped Peter Barry to rescue who following a lovely move finished to the net. Back to back points from Connell Ahearne put Ratoath’s noses in front before Na Fianna snatched the equalizer to put the game into extra time at 1-9 apiece.

The momentum all the same was with McGill’s charges and within 90 seconds of the start of extra time, sub Conor Sullivan grabbed Ratoath’s second, with Tiernan Ahearne raising another green flag just before half time to put his side firmly in the driving seat. Score at half time in extra time 3-11 to 1-11.

Following the interval there was still a last kick in the Enfield men as they scored a 3 pointer of their own to reduce the deficit to a goal. This though was as close as they got. as Ratoath dominated the remaining minutes with O’Sullivan applying the coup de grace, with his second and Ratoath’s 4th goal of the game to eventually run out 7 point winners.

Ratoath now go on to contest the Final next Friday the 29th of November (8pm) in Dunganny in a repeat of last year’s final against Dunboyne.

Foireann Ráth Tó: Darragh McPartlin, Sean Brazil, Cormac Butler, Ben Wyer, Ryan Kelly, Andrew Gerard, John Walsh, Ben McGowan, Daithí McGowan, Padraic Byrne, Cian Rogers, Jack Flynn, Tiarnan Ahearne, Tom Fadden, Sean Johnson.

Fir Ionad: Cian Kelly for Padraic Byrne, Conor O’Sullivan for Tom Fadden, Peter Barry for Cian Kelly, Connell Ahearne for Sean Johnson, Sean Johnson for Tiarnan  Ahearne (extra time) and Adam Whelan for Ben Wyer (extra time).

Scorers: Conor O’Sullivan 2-0, Cian Rogers 0-6 (0-4f), Tiarnan  Aherne 1-0, Peter Barry 1-0, Jack Flynn 0-2, Tom Fadden 0-2 (0-2f), Sean Johnson 0-1, Connell Ahearne 0-1, Daithi McGowan 0-1.